jump to navigation

The Customer Who…Loves the World Cup June 27, 2006

Posted by Teller in Customer Who...Series.
trackback

Two topics have dominated all conversations this past month: World Cup and parliamentary elections. Elections will take place on Thursday and ergo culminate discussions of politics after the initial backlash of “D’you believe [insert disbelief/joy/frustration] won?” Regardless, chitchat of the World Cup will continue well into the next month. Don’t misunderstand me. I enjoy discussing sports but having to face customers saying the identical phrases all day long gets tiresome. I cannot feign excitement over a match after having discussed it with twenty other people.

Today a customer walked in and would not pause long enough to take a breath in his enthusiasm for the World Cup. The entire counter listened to a play-by-play of the last six matches and why specific teams won or lost, what they should have done and if they will do better in the next World Cup. Before I knew it, two of the trainees jumped into the discussion as well as three customers waiting their turn. I’ve reached the point where I just want it to wrap-up.

Comments»

1. Vixen - June 28, 2006

LOl—I feel you. I’m from a country that gets World Cup fever every 4 years. After a while, it does tend to get tedious. Especially when your country didn’t even make it this year to the games. Like the Super Eagles. Highly disappointed in them btw. Uugh.

2. Tololy - July 4, 2006

I can definitely relate to this. But bear in mind that some people actually have to cover each match and be in the know-all about the games as well as answer all questions, those people I feel sorry for. (I am one of those people so it’s okay if you decide to feel sorry for me at this point).

I just hope Italia does well tonight.


Leave a Reply

