jump to navigation

Keep Your Promise! May 7, 2006

Posted by Teller in Counter Open.
trackback

One of the more frustrating traits I find in our loan officers is that when they make a promise to a customer, they don't deliver. I don't know who's in charge of their training but when I first started on the job I was repeatedly told to underpromise and overdeliver.

Today, a loan officer had the audacity to blame a trainee for his inability to meet his commitments. He summoned the customer into the cubicle that masquerades as his office and notified him that the trainee was the reason the work was being held up. I only found out because the customer stormed up to me and demanded to know why the trainee hadn't prepared the requisite forms for his application. 

Needless to say, I was incensed when this happened. It's completely irresponsible of him to turn the trainee into a scapegoat and to waste a customer's time. You can lose customers over silly incidents like these. Customers get upset when they take the time to come to the branch and find out they're there for nothing. They lose faith in you and the next time you call them in they may not be so eager to show up.

Unfortunately, our manager doesn't seem to share my opinion on the matter. The loan officer got huffy after I confronted him about it and brought up the issue at our end of the day meeting. The manager thinks I overstepped my boundaries and shouldn't be teaching the loan officer his job. It doesn't matter that I've seen this behavior before and the subsequent results. All that matters is that loan officer doesn't get sulky and so refuse to bring in new business.  

Comments»

1. Vixen - May 9, 2006

Ayayaya! The ones in charge are usually the major assholes! Perhaps a nasty complaining letter from a ‘customer’–(you) would cause some change.

Perhaps.


Leave a Reply

