jump to navigation

Working Hours April 24, 2006

Posted by Teller in Banking, Kuwait.
trackback

For my international readers (Vixen!) I believe an explanation on the timetable of work weeks in Kuwait is due. That we start and end our weeks on different days than the majority of the world may be an alien notion to people who are used to their Monday-Fridays at work and lounging on Saturdays and Sundays. Just keep in mind that your work week was once as foreign to me as this sounds to you. I didn't always understand why Garfield hated Mondays so much.

A typical Kuwaiti work week starts on Saturday and ends on Wednesday. Thursdays and Fridays make up the weekend. This schedule is the norm in Kuwait as the majority of the Kuwaiti workforce is employed by the public sector.

Banks in Kuwait have a different work week altogether. Our week starts on Sunday and ends on Thursday. We have Fridays and Saturdays off. That's why Sundays and Thursdays are the busiest days at work for me. They signify the first and last day of my week. Our weeks and weekends differ from the rest of the populance which is convinient on weekends when you don't want to tackle traffic.

Nearly all the banks in Kuwait have one or two branches that deviate from this regular schedule to provide customers with service when the majority of the branches are closed. I work in a normal branch so I adhere to the Sunday-Thursday work week.

In addition, we have two work shifts a day instead of following a 9-5 schedule. This lineup is why I see my co-workers more than my family and why they have become my family.

Comments»

1. Vixen - April 25, 2006

Whoa, thanks for the illumination. Now I see why it’s uber crazy on Sundays;)

2. damo - January 11, 2007

Thanks for clarifying! I work in London and part of my job is working out holiday calendars globally. Kuwait always confused me due to the difference between the western calendar, Kuwaiti Sat-Wed and banking Sun-Thurs.


Leave a Reply

