jump to navigation

A Letter Born of Impatience April 23, 2006

Posted by Teller in Counter Open.
trackback

Dear Customers,

You were waiting a long time for your turn today but it is Sunday and it's to be expected. Many were there with you. Don't you remember? You were complaining to them. I understand that branches should have more than two tellers but when one calls in sick and another loiters upstairs with his coffee and cigarettes, I am powerless to do anything. When you grumble, I am the one who hears it. When the other tellers are absent, I am the one who feels the burn. You only have to wait your turn. I am the one doing the work. I only have two hands to do my job and my job requires a lot of multi-tasking.

When there is a huge queue waiting on me sometimes it causes me to be tense. Your asking me to speed up will only cause me to make mistakes. These mistakes will further delay your turn at the counter. Don't rush the people in front of you when you yourself will take longer than the people you have been harrassing. If you think we are being slow, time us. Each customer is entitled to 10 minutes of my time. It's rare for a customer's transaction to take a full ten minutes but sometimes it's necessary to exceed that time when there is a problem at hand. At the very least, it will give you something to do while you're waiting.

I will see you soon. Second shift will be starting momentarily. Please be kinder this time.

Best regards,

Teller

Comments»

1. Shirley - April 23, 2006

And I thought only in America are we impatient.🙂

Have a blessed day,

Shirley

2. Oly - April 23, 2006

Hello, I’m Oliver from Belgium.

Nice blog! Come and see my blog! Thanks!

http://lesoliviersdeflorence.skynetblogs.be

3. Vixen - April 24, 2006

Sheesh! I guess it’s all over. Perhaps they should try NOT coming in during the weekends–and come when the bank is fully staffed if they don’t want to wait. Like around 10-11am right before lunch. Or between 2-3 before the after work crowd rolls in.

If only people were smarter!


Leave a Reply

