jump to navigation

Customer Service August 13, 2006

Posted by Teller in Counter Open.
trackback

Summer is a lazy time for banks because most people are out of the country. We have less customers, thus less stress. Ramadan is right around the corner to continue our lazy streak. Lack of customers equals lack of stories for me to recite. My current obsession is turning our latest batch of summer trainees into grade A tellers. I don’t know what’s happened to the bank’s training program but it’s not doing an effective job.

It seems like a lifetime ago I was crammed in a small cold room with 20 other individuals being tutored by a high-strung Egyptian woman.

Smile!

Eye contact!

You must egreet ze customer with Saba7 elKheir!

You must use ze customer’s name!

These days countless trainees arrive at my branch without any knowledge of the basics of customer service. Is summer making them lazy or do they really not care? When you go to a branch what would you expect as far as customer service is concerned?

Comments»

1. guy - August 13, 2006

hi
i read your blogs and i came out with several conclusions about your identity
1st.
u said that u were tutored with other 20 individuals about customer service .which means that u work in NBK .because NBK give this specific training programme to its new recruits (NRDP)
snd.
u said that your branch has a manager ,assistant manager ,2 loan officers ,and 3 tellers .which means that u work in a medium size branch .
3rd.
u said that kuwaitis dont come to the branch often because they r all traveling .which means u work in a residence area in kuwait .becaause branches in trade areas in kuwait r crowded even if its traveling season .
so u r a teller in a medium size branch in NBK in a residence area
what u think of me ;)
u will probobly try to mislead me ,but save it to yourself .i will know your identity soon

Teller replies, You believe you’re right so I won’t add anything to dissuade you. I do have one request; please don’t harm anyone in your attempt to find me. 

2. sknk - August 13, 2006

one thing i like to see is someone with a little bit of enthusiasm :P i mean i know some people may not like the job, but for someone thats just come off the baking hot streets, the last thing you wanna see is someone displaying their frustrated emotions, or hungover state while doing something with your account :|
cos half the time youre wondering are they gonna mess something up cos they obviously arent paying attention :|.
smile, never mind somuch about the name, chat about the weather, which shouldbe easy to do here :P, ask about traffic, small talk! it makes the process so much better, and personally i go back to the branches with those tellers even tho its not my branch.

and damn that first reply is scary :|

Teller replies: Yes, I whole-heartedly agree on enthusiasm and  a positive attitude! I myself have been in the position of waiting for a service and have someone be utterly rude. It only made the whole experience worse. Maybe with your help I can create my own Customer Service tutorial ;) 

3. Entrepreneur - August 13, 2006

umm ok, the previous comment on this post is from someone who is really bored. Dude, aside from figuring out who bloggers are do you do anything productive with your life?

If not, then why not enroll in our secret service? Im sure they could do with gifted people such as yourself who can expose people’s real identities.

Dont give up your day job buddy…

As for Bankteller, its cool, come september and the madness will resume ;)

Teller replies, Thank you Entrepreneur for your reply. I guess the theme of this post is that summer spawns boredom ;)

4. nibaq - August 13, 2006

Glad to see someone teaching people customer service.

Teller replies, Thank you. I hope they do remember to use it when they finally get a place at the counter! 

5. S. - August 13, 2006

ترى من زمان ودي أعرف هاللي يشتغلون “بروفشنالي” بخدمة العملاء شيعلمونهم وشنو من تصرفاتهم اللي عفوي وشنو الممتهتن

أول مرة أدخل هالمدونة وانشالله ماتوقف جريب
Original تونّـــــس!

As for the Inspector Gadget-wannabe above,
Remember: anonymity is here for a reason, why can’t you respect that?
ســــخـــــــــيـــــــــف

Teller replies, مشكور على كلامك    ان شا ء الله بكتبلكم بوست اطول عن هل موضوع

Your “Inspector Gadget-wannabe” comment made me laugh.  

6. Vixen - August 14, 2006

LOL to the last comment. Inspector Gadget-wannabe…that’s funny!

I know that most jobs have a training session. Guess the Egyptian lady didn’t train this new bunch. Over here, from every teller I’ve dealt with, I get a smile, a nice hello asking about my day, quickness with dealing with my transaction and a parting, “Have a nice day with another smile. I know after dealing with 100 customers you might not wanna smile all the friggin’ time, but at least smile to greet each customer. Yeah, looks like the recruits are slacking. Good luck with your initiation of them.

Teller replies, Vixen I am always delighted by your visits to my space. Thank you for your input. What you mentioned are  the very basic things one can do in customer service yet this bunch doesn’t seem to be willing to even crack a smile. It’s frustrating! Some of them barely know proper etiquette in dealing with humans. You do not sigh and pout and stomp away when a customer requests you get his chequebook!   

7. Salty-C - August 14, 2006

Y r ppl (Guy) so eager to know ur identity? :P

When i go to a bank, i expect to be greeted with a warm welcome and a smilely face. This way even if they don’t really know what they r doing, i’d have some patience to wait a bit until they figure it out. Rude and cold employees give me a short temper.

And “some” summer trainees are a pain in the *toot*. They act childish and immature and are always late and lazy and just wanna socialize. If those r the type of summer trainees u have, Allah ya36eek 6oolat ilbal.

Teller replies, I don’t know how this turned into a Teller Hunt. Thank you for your words, I will keep drilling it into my trainees. Sometimes I want to give up in frustration, feeling more like a parent than a co-worker! I say this now but it’s only because I’ve had a trying day. Tomorrow I will renew my efforts once again. Hopefully some of it will stick when they move on to other branches. 

8. Shirley - August 15, 2006

Hello, Teller. Is it not true that courtesy, a smiling face and a warm personality are desirable in any country and in any language.

Blessings,

Shirley Buxton
http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

Teller replies, Thank you for your constant visits Shirley, God bless! Now how does one teach courtesy? I jest; each day they are getting better but it is only because I have stuck Post-Its reminding them to SMILE!

9. Blue Ice Envy - August 15, 2006

Hi, I read your blog from time to time,
I actually find that the employees in Kuwait banks are very friendly, they’re always smiling!
Come to France and you’ll see the difference!
I think that the problem with Kuwaiti banks is the legislation, when I opened my account at NBK they were surprised that I asked for the account general conditions.

Teller replies, I’m pleased that your experience has been positive. If I have any more problems with this batch I will send them on a one-way ticket to France. Maybe their surly dispositions will be more useful to them there ;) There are countless problems with Kuwaiti banks but let’s not open that can of worms. 

10. CustomersAreAlways - August 17, 2006

Customer Service: A Kuwaiti Bank Teller’s Perspective…

I often like to read how other cultures view customer service. Today I happened upon the blog, Days of a Kuwaiti Bank Teller, and being one who was once employed by Wells Fargo, it caught my attention. Just a little……

11. NBK Employee Says: NBK Sucks! - December 30, 2006

Well i dont think that you’re in NBK as you’ve mentioned “Meeter Greeter” in your blog, which is commonly used by Gulf Bank Employees, wallahu a3lam

12. wilbur - February 22, 2007

very insightful read, thankyou.

13. terry - October 17, 2007

For a women, this is quiet hard but u don’t have to loose your heart. Different types of banking customer give you a new experience in every day. I would like to tell you about a community which will help you make your life successful and has a program to raise self esteem and promotes personal prosperity. It has valuable information and easy tools to assist you and help to make you presence excellent. Check these all alternatives at http://www.braveheartwomen.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

